Skip to content
Our Culture

About Us

Home > Our Culture : About Us > History


In order to provide a more stable financial system, President Woodrow Wilson signed the Federal Reserve Act into law on Dec. 23, 1913. The Federal Reserve Bank of St. Louis, headquarters of the Eighth Federal Reserve District, opened its doors on Nov. 16, 1914, one of 12 Reserve banks established by the Act. The Eighth District covers all of Arkansas and parts of Illinois, Indiana, Kentucky, Mississippi, Missouri and Tennessee.

Learn more about our history: