Financial Capability and Inclusion:
Leveraging Strategies and Tools to Empower Youth

Registration for this webinar is closed.

Thursday, Sept. 22, 2016
12-1:15 p.m. PT | 1-2:15 p.m. MT | 2-3:15 p.m. CT | 3-4:15 p.m. ET

Today's youth often face a double bind: both a marketplace of complex financial products and a seemingly inevitable future of mounting debt. In July 2016, the FINRA Investor Education Foundation released findings of its 2016 National Financial Capability Study and found that, among demographic groups evaluated for financial capability improvement, millennials lagged when it came to making ends meet, planning ahead, managing financial products and financial knowledge. What challenges do young adults face that other generations might not, and what are the particular challenges faced by young adults from low- and moderate-income families? What specific ways can we build financial capability and security among youth? What’s more, how can we cultivate a generation of savers and lay the foundation of asset-building for the future?

The Financial Capability and Inclusion series is part of the Exploring Innovation in Community Development webinars from the Federal Reserve Bank of St. Louis. The webinars will look at novel strategies that organizations are using to provide individuals and families with tools to build financial capability and inclusive financial services that create long-term economic stability.

During this second webinar in the series on Sept. 22, experts will discuss unique challenges that young adults face in putting financial knowledge into practice, as well as why that step is so essential to financial capability and long-term financial stability. They'll share what innovative programs are available to assist youth in making better money management decisions. Hear about platforms that incent goals and savings at all levels, and learn how financial institutions, nonprofit and community organizations, and local youth employment partners can work together to equip youth with critical tools at pivotal learning opportunities.

Speakers include:

  • Margaret Libby, Founding Executive Director, MyPath
  • Leigh Phillips, Chief Executive Officer, EARN
  • Lisa Potts, Program Coordinator, People's Community Action Corporation

Participation in this webinar is free; however, registration is required. Register for this session at the Exploring Innovation in Community Development website.

Mark your calendar now for the final webinar in this series on Tuesday, Oct. 18, "Tools and Strategies to Promote Personal Savings."