Sign Up for the 2022 Community Banking Research Conference, Sept. 28-29

September 23, 2022

ST. LOUIS ― Community bankers, academics, policymakers and bank supervisors will meet Sept. 28-29 for the 10th annual Community Banking Research Conference at the Federal Reserve Bank of St. Louis and online.

The conference, formerly titled the Community Banking in the 21st Century Research and Policy Conference, is co-sponsored by the Federal Reserve System, the Conference of State Bank Supervisors (CSBS) and the Federal Deposit Insurance Corp. (FDIC). The Federal Reserve Bank of St. Louis will host the hybrid conference.

This year’s keynote speakers include:

  • Michelle Bowman, member, Board of Governors of the Federal Reserve System, at 10 a.m. CT on Sept. 28
  • Martin Gruenberg, acting chairman, FDIC, at 1:30 p.m. CT on Sept. 28 (virtual)
  • Clayton Legear, president and CEO, Merchants & Marine Bank, at 9 a.m. CT on Sept. 29

Other notable highlights from the conference agenda include:

  • Federal Reserve Bank of St. Louis President James Bullard will give welcoming remarks at 9 a.m. CT on Sept. 28
  • Federal Reserve Board of Governors Chair Jerome Powell will give a pre-recorded special video welcome at 9:15 a.m. CT on Sept. 28
  • Federal Reserve Bank of Kansas City President Esther George will give special video remarks at 1:25 p.m. CT on Sept. 28

2022 CSBS National Survey of Community Banks

Results of the 2022 CSBS National Survey of Community Banks will be presented at 9:30 a.m. CT on Sept. 28. Since 2014, the national survey has provided insights into the opportunities and challenges that banks faced during the previous year.

2022 CSBS Case Study Competition

James Madison University, in Harrisonburg, Va., and the winning team of this year’s CSBS Community Bank Case Study Competition, will present at 4:30 p.m. CT on Sept. 28. This year, student teams partnered with local community banks to examine how institutions have navigated changes over the past decade and what to expect in the next 10 years.

Panel Discussion: Tech-Enabled Relationship Lending

This year’s panel discussion, moderated by the FDIC’s Brian Sullivan, will examine the future of tech-enabled relationship lending. The discussion will take place at 11:30 a.m. CT on Sept. 29.

Panelists include:

  • Gregory Hayes, president and CEO, Kish Bank, Belleville, Pa.
  • Nicole Lorch, president and chief operating officer, First Internet Bank, Fishers, Ind.
  • Amanda Swoverland, chief compliance officer, Unit, New York

Research Papers and Presenting Authors

Eleven papers were selected to be presented at this year’s conference:

  • The Age Gap in Mortgage Access, Natee Amornsiripanitch, Federal Reserve Bank of Philadelphia
  • The Procyclicality of FDIC Deposit Insurance Premiums, Jennifer S. Rhee, FDIC
  • Bank Monitoring with On-Site Inspections, Amanda Heitz, Tulane University
  • Bank Loan Markups and Adverse Selection, Gregory Weitzner, McGill University
  • Non-Information Asymmetry Benefits of Relationship Lending, Daniel Rabetti, Tel Aviv University
  • The Impact of Minority Representation at Mortgage Lenders, Ruidi Huang, Southern Methodist University
  • Bank Competition and Entrepreneurial Gaps: Evidence from Bank Deregulation, Xiang Li, Boston College
  • “Let Us Put Our Moneys Together:" Minority-Owned Banks and Resilience to Crises, W. Scott Langford, Arizona State University
  • The Benefits and Costs of Transparent Supervision of Public Banks: Evidence from Disclosure of SEC Comment Letters, Amy Hutton, Boston College
  • The Social Externalities of Bank Disclosure Regulation: Evidence from the Community Reinvestment Act, Oktay Urcan, University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign
  • Bank Examination Reports and Bank Outcomes, Cindy Vojtech, Federal Reserve Board
  • The complete agenda can be found on the conference website.

    * Note to Media *

    Media interested in attending the 2022 Community Banking Research Conference in-person or virtually must register in advance with Maria Hasenstab, St. Louis Fed media coordinator, at

    Contact Us

    Email the media team

    • Laura Girresch


    • Shera Dalin


    • Tim Lloyd


    Back to Top