Skip to content

Federal Reserve Vice Chair Quarles to Speak at 2018 Fed/CSBS Community Banking Research Conference


ST. LOUIS ― Federal Reserve Vice Chair for Supervision Randal K. Quarles will deliver one of the keynote addresses during the sixth annual Community Banking in the 21st Century research and policy conference that will be held Oct. 3-4 at the Federal Reserve Bank of St. Louis.

The conference, hosted by the Federal Reserve System and the Conference of State Bank Supervisors (CSBS), brings together community bankers, academics, policymakers and bank supervisors from across the country to discuss the latest academic research on community banking, as well as important policy issues facing the sector.

Other guest speakers will include Federal Reserve Bank of St. Louis President James Bullard, CSBS Chair-elect Charlotte Corley, commissioner of the Mississippi Department of Banking and Consumer Finance and CSBS President and CEO John Ryan.

The call for papers for this year’s conference is open through June 15, 2018. The conference welcomes submissions that address all aspects of community banking, including but not limited to: the role of community banks in the U.S. financial system; advantages and disadvantages of the community bank business model; the effects of government policy on community banks; significant challenges faced by community banks and new opportunities for community banks. Authors of accepted papers will be notified by August 3, 2018. Submissions should be e-mailed to: The conference committee will issue a new award this year to recognize the accepted paper that it identifies as making the most significant contribution to banking policy.

For more information, see the conference website at



Headquartered in St. Louis, with branches in Little Rock, Louisville and Memphis, the Federal Reserve Bank of St. Louis serves the states that comprise the Federal Reserve’s Eighth District, which includes all of Arkansas, eastern Missouri, southern Indiana, southern Illinois, western Kentucky, western Tennessee and northern Mississippi. The St. Louis Fed is one of 12 regional Reserve banks that, along with the Board of Governors in Washington, D.C., comprise the Federal Reserve System. As the nation's central bank, the Federal Reserve System formulates U.S. monetary policy, regulates state-chartered member banks and bank holding companies, provides payment services to financial institutions and the U.S. government, and promotes financial literacy, economic education, and community development.

The Conference of State Bank Supervisors (CSBS) is the national organization of bank regulators from all 50 states, American Samoa, District of Columbia, Guam, Puerto Rico and U.S. Virgin Islands. State regulators supervise roughly three-quarters of all U.S. banks and a variety of non-depository financial services. CSBS, on behalf of state regulators, also operates the Nationwide Multistate Licensing System to license and register non-depository financial service providers in the mortgage, money services businesses, consumer finance and debt industries.