Skip to content

J. Kenneth Glass Appointed to Federal Reserve Advisory Council


MEMPHIS, Tenn. — The board of directors of the Federal Reserve Bank of St. Louis has appointed J. Kenneth Glass, chairman, president and chief executive officer of First Horizon National Corporation in Memphis, to serve a one-year term on the Federal Advisory Council.

Established by the Federal Reserve Act, the Federal Reserve Advisory Council consists of one representative from each of the 12 Reserve districts. The members of the council confer at least four times a year with the Federal Reserve Board of Governors in Washington, D.C., on economic and banking developments, and make recommendations on Fed system activities. Representatives on the council may be re-appointed and may serve a maximum of three one-year terms.

Glass is a also a member of the boards of directors of FedEx Corporation, GTx, Inc., the Financial Services Roundtable and the Tennessee Bankers Association, serves on several non-profit boards, and is active in community events.

With branches in Little Rock, Louisville and Memphis, the Federal Reserve Bank of St. Louis serves the Eighth Federal Reserve District, which includes all of Arkansas, eastern Missouri, southern Indiana, southern Illinois, western Kentucky, western Tennessee and northern Mississippi. The St. Louis Fed is one of 12 regional Reserve banks that, along with the Board of Governors in Washington, D.C., comprise the Federal Reserve System. As the nation's central bank, the Federal Reserve System formulates U.S. monetary policy, regulates state-chartered member banks and bank holding companies, and provides payment services to financial institutions and the U.S. government.

# # #