Skip to content

U.S. Mint Turns Presidents into Gold

Sunday, January 1, 2006

The most familiar faces on U.S. coins are Abraham Lincoln, Thomas Jefferson, Franklin Roosevelt and George Washington (respectively appearing on the penny, the nickel, the dime and the quarter). Starting in 2007, however, every U.S. president will have his own coin. Abe, Tom, Franklin and George won't be the only ones having all the fun.

The U.S. Mint is preparing the Presidential $1 Coin Program to commemorate the service of American presidents by issuing $1 coins at a rate of four per year, in the order of service. (Yes, there will be two Grover Cleveland coins.)

According to the Mint, the program seeks to "revitalize the design of United States coins and return circulating coinage to its position as an object of aesthetic beauty in its own right." The new coins will feature larger, more dramatic artwork, edge-incused inscriptions of the year of minting or issuance, "E Pluribus Unum," "In God We Trust" and the mint mark. The reverse will feature a bold rendition of the Statue of Liberty.

The Mint is planning media events, educational materials and a dynamic web site to inform the public on the availability of the new Presidential $1 Coins. Promotional materials will be available to retailers, financial institutions, educational groups and other stakeholders to increase awareness and promote the use of the new coins in daily transactions.

Full information is available at$1coin.